What are the Pillars of Prayer (Salah)?

Pillars of Prayer (Salah)


What are the pillars of prayer (salah) without them the prayer is invalid? 


The pillars of prayer are: 

1- The Intention (An-Niyyah) which means setting the right intention for praying each prayer. 

2- The opening takbeer (takbirat Al-Ihram) which means saying ‘Allahu Akbar‘ at the beginning of prayer.

3- The qiyam (standing upright if one has the ability to do so).

4- Reciting Surat Al-Fatihah (Opening Chapter of the Quran) in each rak`ah of prayer. 

5- Making Ruku` (Bowing).

6- Rising from the bowing position. 

7- Making Sujud (Prostration) twice in each rak`ah

8- Sitting between the two prostrations.

9- Sitting while reciting the last tashahhud.

10- The final tashahhud (reciting the testimony of faith)

11- The tasleem (saying ‘Asalamu Alaikum‘ at the end of the prayer)

12- Being calm and feeling at ease while fulfilling each movement is essential to give it its due right; making certain that each body part assumes the appropriate position before one moves from one position to another.

13- Following the right order for each pillar as mentioned above.

Watch this short talk to know the pillars of prayer in details with Dr. Muhammad salah.


Source: Huda Youtube Channel.

Related Post